Austin · Licensed center
The Goddard School
- Large play-based center, licensed for 200 children.
What these mean, and where they come from
Large means the biggest quarter of Austin-area’s 928 licensed centers by state-licensed capacity: 154 to 731 children. Small is 12 to 61; medium is 62 to 153.
How they teach
Play-based
“Visit your local Goddard School to learn more about our play-based approach to learning and the costs associated based on your individual needs.”In their words, July 2026.goddardschool.com
One of 104 Austin-area providers that describe a play-based approach, out of 226 that describe any approach at all.
Who cares for your child
Ratio not published
Two staff are named on their site, with no start years given.
Shortlist doesn’t have these yet: cost, sick and biting policies.
What the state has found
This state publishes the visits that cited something but not the ones that cited nothing, so there is no city rate to set this beside.
From Texas HHSC’s published reports, last checked September 25, 2026.
Read every record and the state’s reports
State record — Texas HHSC
- Last visit
- June 1, 2026
- On file
- 4 visits since January 2022 — all of them cited findings · 4 complaint investigations
- Most serious
- High —
This investigation found that a child was left inside a classroom during a transition.
· May 15, 2026
Texas HHSC describes each deficiency in writing and weights the standard behind it from high to low by the risk a violation presents to children. It publishes no inspection document.
Jun 2026 Licensing visit 1 finding
Licensing visit · June 1, 2026
746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection · Medium High
The operation did not have an updated sanitation form. The last inspection was conducted on 02/21/2025.
May 2026 Complaint
Complaint · May 15, 2026
Reported to the state by the program
Self-report is Texas HHSC’s own field on its complaint investigation record.
746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity · High
This investigation found that a child was left inside a classroom during a transition.
Apr 2026 Complaint 2 findings
Complaint · April 9, 2026
Reported to the state by the program
Self-report is Texas HHSC’s own field on its complaint investigation record.
746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity · High
This investigation found that a child was left outside unattended.
746.705 - Incident/Illness Report Form Signed · Low
This investigation found that an incident report was not provided to parents.
Aug 2025 Licensing visit 5 findings
Licensing visit · August 13, 2025
746.1309(a) - Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required · Medium
Two caregivers did not have the full training hours for the last training year. They each had 13.5 training hours.
746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months · High
The operation did not have an updated fire inspection.
746.901(4) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit (Form 2985) · Medium Low
Two employees were missing a notarized affidavit in their personnel file.
746.901(5) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit (Form 2912) · Medium Low
Seven of the records reviewed had missing pre-employment affidavits.
746.901(9) - Required Personnel Records - Photo Identification · Medium
One employee record was missing a driver's license or photo identification. This was corrected at inspection when a copy of the driver's license was made.
Jul 2025 Complaint
Complaint · July 22, 2025
Reported to the state by the program
Self-report is Texas HHSC’s own field on its complaint investigation record.
746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity · High
This investigation found that a child was left on a playground.
Oct 2024 Complaint
Complaint · October 14, 2024
746.305(a)(2) - AP Report Child Injury Requiring Medical Treatment by a Health-Care Professional or Hospitalization · Medium High
An injury requiring medical treatment was not reported to Child Care Regulation was not reported within 48 hours.
Nov 2023 Licensing visit 3 findings
Licensing visit · November 28, 2023
746.4503(b) - Cots, Beds, Mats Labeled With Child's Name · Medium
Nap mats were not labelled with children's names or a number in any of the classrooms in which they are used.
746.501(a)(8) - Written Operational Policies - Suspension and Expulsion · Medium High
There is no suspension/expulsion policy in the operation's Policies.
746.5307(a) - Inspect Fire Extinguishers Monthly · Medium High
Fire extinguishers have not been checked monthly at all this school year.
Jan 2022 Licensing visit 1 finding
Licensing visit · January 7, 2022
746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection · Medium High
The operation does not have a current sanitation inspection.
A day here
- Updates for parents
- Goddard Family Hub app for daily photo/video updates (Goddard School’s policy for all its schools)
- Hours
- 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM, 5 days a week
Details
- Website
- goddardschool.com
- Address
- 12101 Archeleta Blvd Unit 1
- License
- 1707662, active
- Chain
- The Goddard School, a franchiseSource: goddardschool.com
- Owner
- This school is owned by its franchisee. The Goddard School brand is owned by Sycamore Partners, a private-equity firm.The private-equity firm Sycamore Partners lists Goddard Systems as a current investment. sycamorepartners.comGoddard’s own site says “All Goddard Schools are independently owned and operated.” goddardschool.com
Do you run The Goddard School? Shortlist has no ratios or policies for it, because the state does not publish that. Adding it is free and takes about ten minutes.
Add what is missingSources and dates
Where every fact on this page came from, and when Shortlist last checked it against that source. Anything Shortlist could not source is named here rather than left blank.
How they teach
- Approach — Checked July 2026 goddardschool.com
Who cares for your child
- Staff goddardschool.com
State record
Every state visit and complaint on file, shown in full and never edited. Open a date to read what the state wrote.
A day here
- Updates for parents — Checked July 2026 goddardschool.com
- Hours — Checked July 2026 goddardschool.com
Details
- Phone, Address, License — Checked July 2026 childcare.hhs.texas.gov
- Website — Checked July 2026 goddardschool.com
- Chain — Checked September 2026 goddardschool.com
- Owner — Checked September 2026 sycamorepartners.com
- Owner — Checked September 2026 goddardschool.com