West Austin Neighborhood Group · Licensed center
Spark Learning
A play-based center in West Austin Neighborhood Group, licensed for 59 children. Kristen Rakun (Founder) has been there since 2012.
Small center. Small means the smallest quarter of Austin-area’s 928 licensed centers by state-licensed capacity: 12 to 61 children. Medium is 62 to 153; large is 154 to 731.
How they teach
Play-based
“Through our natural, play-based approach, we promote positive behaviors while addressing those that may interfere with learning and development.”In their words. spark-learning.com, July 2026
One of 104 Austin-area providers that describe a play-based approach, out of 226 that describe any approach at all.
Who cares for your child
Ratio not published
Kristen Rakun (Founder) since 2012.
Of 1,219 Austin-area providers, 39 publish how long a named staff member has been there; the longest tenure at each of those has a median of twenty years.
Shortlist doesn’t have these yet: cost, a typical day, sick and biting policies.
What the state has found
This state publishes the visits that cited something but not the ones that cited nothing, so there is no city rate to set this beside.
From Texas HHSC’s published reports, last checked September 25, 2026.
Read every record and the state’s reports
State record — Texas HHSC
- Last visit
- January 23, 2026
- On file
- 1 visit, January 2026 — it cited findings
- Most serious
- Medium Low —
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, determined the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
· January 23, 2026
Texas HHSC describes each deficiency in writing and weights the standard behind it from high to low by the risk a violation presents to children. It publishes no inspection document.
Jan 2026 Licensing visit 1 finding
Licensing visit · January 23, 2026
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees · Medium Low
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, determined the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
A day here
- Hours
- 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM, 5 days a week
Details
- Phone
- 5129001425
- Website
- spark-learning.com
- Address
- 2515 Enfield Rd
- License
- 1570019, active
- Established
- 2012
Do you run Spark Learning? Shortlist has no ratios, policies or daily routine for it, because the state does not publish that. Add what is missing. It is free and takes about ten minutes.
Sources and dates
Where every fact on this page came from, and when Shortlist last checked it against that source. Anything Shortlist could not source is named here rather than left blank.
How they teach
- Approach — Checked July 2026 · spark-learning.com
Who cares for your child
- Staff — spark-learning.com
State record
Every state visit and complaint on file, shown in full and never edited. Open a date to read what the state wrote.
A day here
- Hours — Checked July 2026 · spark-learning.com
Details
- Phone, Address, License — Checked July 2026 · childcare.hhs.texas.gov
- Website — Checked July 2026 · spark-learning.com
- Established — Checked July 2026 · spark-learning.com